Is Sesame seed Gluten-free? yes, Sesame seed is gluten-free. Only plants belonging to the triticeae tribe produce seeds with gluten. Wheat is one such seed with the most gluten content. Sesame on the other hand does not belong to this tribe, hence no gluten. Although it can get impurities during the processing in food facilities. If any food processing plant is dealing with wheat or other grass seed from the triticeae tribe along with sesame seeds. Then it is likely to add gluten impurity to the sesame seeds.
Check out my previous post: Is Ozone Water Safe for Plant?
What exactly is Gluten?
Gluten is a product of two complex proteins- Glutenin and gliadin. It is present in many grains, especially those belonging to the triticeae tribe. Wheat, rye, and barley are a few such seeds that contain the maximum amount of gluten.
Gluten present in wheat gives elasticity to its dough. This is essential for the fluffiness or the bread. It would crumble and break without gluten. Gluten also makes the bread chewy otherwise it will break into bit pieces while eating.
The very structure of gliadin binds the long protein chain of glutenin. It makes a net-like mesh that traps air bubbles in the dough. When we add yeast to the dough. It feeds on the sucrose and releases Carbon dioxide. This CO2 gas gets trapped in the gluten bonds and inflamed the dough. It makes the dough light and fluffy. This is not possible without gluten. You can’t imagine a delicious fluffy bread without gluten.
Today we can prepare bread without gluten-based flour yet it’s not that easy. You may like this: Can Gluten in Fruits and Seeds Harm You?
Gluten in Sesame Seeds and Oil
Sesame seeds are naturally gluten-free. They don’t contain traces of glutenin or gliadin hence no gluten is present in them.
We usually consider gluten as harmful and it is true to some extent. Gluten can cause indigestion and severe allergic reactions in people with celiac disease. It is good for cooking but not so for digestion. Some people even relate gluten with heart disease although it’s a matter of medical discussion.
If you are worried about the same then you can consume sesame seeds without gluten. They are free from gluten and are a good source of plant-based protein. Sesame seeds contain gluten-free oil with useful nutrients.
Although they can get contaminated by other grains during processing. Sesame seeds or their oils can contain gluten from other grains especially if they are processed together.
Therefore if sesame seed is farm-fresh then it is best to eat. Otherwise, make sure it is cleaned and treated properly before eating.
Read this: Treat Insects on Honeysuckle vine Leaves
How Sesame seed is gluten-free and Wheat is not?
Wheat is grass that belongs to the triticeae tribe. The base plant contains 2 specific protein that binds to form gluten. Individually the Glutenin and gliadin are not significant to the visible structure. They become significant when they combine to form gluten. Gluten is a complex mesh-like protein. It is formed by cross-coupling of the elongated molecules of Gliadin with glutenin.
Together they can trap air molecules when mixed with water. That’s why the bread dough becomes fluffy and light. It helps the dough to become fluffy bread. Although the same property can cause digestive problems. It is really difficult to break down and digest this complex protein instruction. If your digestion is good and you don’t have celiac disease then you can handle gluten-based foods. Otherwise, it may cause constipation, indigestion, acidity, and diarrhea in severe cases. Most importantly what is the only seed with the maximum amount of gluten in it.
Therefore people with celiac disease, gluten allergies, or non-celiac gluten intolerance must avoid wheat in their diet.
Now if you are not a fan of wheat due to gluten. Then sesame can be the best option for your protein diet. Sesame is a rich source of plant protein. It belongs to different plant families other than wheat. So sesame seeds do not contain gluten. Sesame is gluten-free although some impurities can present in them.
Sometimes people with celiac disease also face difficulty in the digestion of sesame seeds. It is mostly related to their poor digestive condition and not to the presence of gluten in sesame seeds. Sesame seeds do not contain gluten so you can eat them without any worry.
Can Sesame Bread Contain Gluten?
Yes, Sesame bread can contain gluten especially if there are made with wheat flour. Sesame seeds are gluten-free but wheat flour is not. Wheat contains most gluten contain present in any grain. I know what bread is tasty but it can also harm you if you are gluten intolerant. Sesame seeds are only for decoration purposes in the sesame bread. Therefore you can’t consider it gluten-free.
Can Sesame oil Contain Gluten?
Fresh sesame oil should not contain gluten impurity. The plant itself along with the sesame seeds are 100% gluten-free. So there should be no trace of gluten in the sesame seed oil. Although it is possible to trace gluten in sesame oil. This mostly occurs due to the impurities that mix with the seed during the process in the facility.
Gluten trace will be maximum in case of introduction of grains in the same processing plant with sesame seeds. Usually, the amount is very negligible so we can avoid the worry of reaction. Although celiac patients should take care with sesame seeds and their oil. Sometimes it can cause difficulty with digestion though not due to gluten.
I am a Celiac Patient, Can I eat Sesame seeds?
Sesame seeds are naturally gluten-free. The sesame plant doesn’t contain proteins like glutenin or gliadin that make gluten. Therefore, sesame seeds are also 100% gluten-free. You can eat sesame seeds if it does not cause any problem for you.
Some celiac patients face problems digesting sesame seeds. It contains protein which is healthy for us but a little complex to break down and digest especially with a weak digestive system. It can cause trouble to celiac patients although sesame seeds don’t contain gluten.
Generally, sesame seeds should not cause any problem to a healthy person as well as any celiac patient. It is better to ask a dietician for a proper diet plan. There are many factors other than gluten that can cause trouble to celiac patients. Your health should be your first priority and always keep it above your craving for tasty food.
You must learn about foods with and without gluten and prepare a proper diet plant. Learn some cooking skills and make something tasty out of those gluten-free fruits and vegetables.